About the Watershed Protection District

The Ventura County Flood Control District was formed on September 12, 1944, by an act of the California State Legislature. The District was formed, in part, to provide for the control and conservation of flood and storm waters and for the protection of watercourses, watersheds, public highways, life, and property from damage or destruction from these waters. The legislation was amended in 1972 to provide for the recreational use and beautification of lands and properties in connection with flood control activities. On January 1, 2003 our District became "Ventura County Watershed Protection District" to reflect the expanding focus for our organization. Over the years Ventura County had evolved from a primarily agricultural region to a more urbanized environment.  Regulations and public concerns have also evolved from a farming based economy to a population that is aware and concerned about environmental quality and preservation. 


WPD Org Chart Fox Canyon Groundwater Management Agency County of Ventura Home Page

Region: Ventura County, one of 58 counties in the State of California, is located on southern California’s Pacific coast, just northwest of Los Angeles. Ventura County is bordered by Los Angeles County to the south and east, Kern County to the north, and Santa Barbara County to the northwest. The county has a population of over 750,000 and consists of 10 incorporated cities which include: Camarillo, Fillmore, Moorpark, Ojai, Oxnard, Port Hueneme, San Buenaventura (Ventura), Santa Paula, Simi Valley, and Thousand Oaks. The county’s unincorporated communities, which make up almost 10 percent of the county’s population, include Bell Canyon, Casitas Springs, Del Norte, El Rio, Hollywood Beach, La Conchita, Lake Sherwood, Lockwood Valley, Meiners Oaks, Mira Monte, Montalvo, Newbury Park, Nyeland Acres, Oak Park, Oakview, Piru, Saticoy, and Silver Strand. Anacapa Island of the Channel Islands National Park and San Nicholas Island are located within the jurisdiction of Ventura County.

Funding: The District is funded through property taxes, benefit assessments, and land development fees paid by property owners within the county. The District is a separate legal entity from the County of Ventura but shares the same board members with the County.

Watershed Zones: To facilitate management of its revenues and projects, the District was divided into four zones, roughly corresponding to the major watersheds within the county. Monies raised within a zone support District studies and projects in that zone. Zone 1 essentially follows the boundaries of the Ventura River Watershed and coastal drainages in the western part of the county. Zone 2 essentially follows the boundaries of the Santa Clara River Watershed and local coastal drainages in the cities of Ventura and Oxnard. Zone 3 essentially follows the boundaries of the Calleguas Creek Watershed and its tributaries. Zone 4 is a mixture of Malibu coastal drainages in the southern part of the county and the relatively undeveloped Cuyama River Watershed in the northern part of the county.

Authority: The District possesses jurisdictional authority over any channel containing runoff with a peak flow rate of more than 500 cubic feet per second (cfs) during a 100-year storm. Laterals and side drains contributing runoff to the jurisdictional channels (referred to as "redline" channels) are under the jurisdiction of the state or appropriate local agency. However, lateral and side drain connections to jurisdictional channels must obtain an encroachment permit from the District and provide sufficient information and engineering studies to show that the connection does not negatively impact the conveyance capacity of the jurisdictional channel.